Tags

,

So last night (Fri 13th!), I went out. I don’t go out very much in the evenings, my job means I have to get up for work at early as 3.45am, so late nights and me just don’t mix! But I had the day off today, so I made arrangements to meet my friends Ally and Maddie at Ping Pong Dim Sum, on Great Marlborough Street W1. It’s just over the road from Liberty of London, where incidentally, Maddie works in the press office! I met Ally through Twitter, and through her I met her sister Maddie – the power of social media eh?

Anyway, we arrived at Ping Pong at about 8.20pm, it was very busy, and we were told there would be a 30-40 minute wait for a table. No worries, we hit the bar for a cocktail!

I chose the “lemongrass and limes” long cocktail, made with Smirnoff Black vodka, lemongrass, limes and lychee juice. Oh my, how delicious? VERY! After much chatting, we were shown downstairs to our table. Ping Pong is very noisy, the tables are close together, not somewhere you’d go for an intimate date, but I’d been before, so I was expecting it.

Myself and Maddie chose the Ping Pong set menu (Ally chose the vegetarian set menu), for £9.95, you got:

From the baked, fried and griddled category: One roast pork puff, one crispy duck spring roll, one Vietnamese rice paper prawn roll, one mixed vegetable spring roll

From the steamed category: One chicken and cashew nut dumpling, one har gau (king prawn and bamboo shoot in translucent pastry), one chicken shu mai (chicken, asparagus and mushroom in an open top won-ton pastry), one spicy vegetable dumpling and one chive dumpling.

From the rice category: one king prawns and scallop sticky rice (seafood and rice steamed in a lotus leaf)

Ally and I also shared some coconut braised vegetables (asparagus, broccoli, baby corn, water chestnuts and a hint of chilli in coconut sauce).

A second cocktail was ordered, and we all chose the Hong Kong Colada – “a classic tropical cocktail with a twist – pampero especial rum, abruzzo liqueur, coconut and pineapple juice with lime wedges and goji berries”. Very tasty, including the occasional goji berry that got sucked up the straw!!

Thoroughly delicious food, lovely cocktails and great company, what more could a girl ask for? We paid just under £30 each, the majority of that being the cocktails which came in at around £7 each – still not bad for a Central London restaurant.

There are some photos below, unfortunately I was so busy chowing down that I forgot to take a photo of the steamed dumplings, so I guess I’ll have to go back… shame 😉

