This is virtually unheard of! Gone are the days we used to eat out three times a week, now we have a 6 year old, and I work extreme shifts, we generally eat out (on our own) about once every three months. We had a babysitter in the form of my Mum last week while we went out for a Greek meal, and while she was here, my son managed to twist her arm into letting him sleep at her house last night.

So of course, it was rude not to go out again, wasn’t it? We decided on Wahaca, “Mexican Market Eating” at Westfield Stratford. The meal was very good, we would definitely return. We enjoyed quesadillas with potato and chorizo filling, chicken tostadas (crisp tortillas), chicken taquitos (corn tortillas), steak tacos, and a very interesting pot of “green rice”, which was rice, “blitzed with coriander, onion and garlic”.

Quite honestly though, the pièce de résistance  for me, unusually, was the dessert. I chose ‘churros y chocolate’ Mexican doughnuts with a rich chocolate sauce to dip them in. Oh. My. Goodness. I had to share them with my husband, so I shall of course be returning, alone, SOON. The photo below says it all really.

Churros y Chocolate

Wahaca was good value, we had five sharing plates, two desserts, a beer and a glass of wine (which came in a tumbler, I didn’t like that really!), and it was £34. We will definitely be returning. Branches at Westfield Stratford City, Westfield London, Covent Garden, Canary Wharf, Bluewater, Soho, Charlotte Street, London South Bank.

