Tags

, , , ,

Last weekend, I went with five of my friends for brunch at Yotam Ottolenghi’s restaurant, “Nopi” in Soho. I had been assured that the food was superb, and having perused the menu for a good week prior to my visit, I was very much looking forward to it.

Interior at Nopi

Interior at Nopi

The restaurant is very minimalist in style, lots of white tiles, and beautiful plain wooden tables and chairs. We were greeted promptly, the waitress remembered one of my companions by name, that was a nice touch. Ice cold still and sparkling water was provided immediately while we looked at the menu. Not that I really needed to…

I chose the shakshuka, braised eggs in a piquante tomato sauce, with smoked labneh yoghurt. Four of us chose this, one had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and the other had a selection of pastries.

Well what can I say? The shakshuka arrived in its’ own little pan, it looked and tasted absolutely divine. The eggs were perfectly cooked, the yolks beautifully runny and golden.

Shakshuka at Nopi

Shakshuka at Nopi

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food, the service was impeccable, and a final word has to go to the bathrooms… Completely mirrored, inside and out, it was like a fairground attraction. There was even an arrow on the floor to point you toward the exit!

Can’t wait to visit Nopi again, brunch with coffee and extra toast was £20. Very reasonable for such outstanding food.

Shakshuka in its own individual pan.

Shakshuka in its own individual pan.

Nopi – 21-22 Warwick Street, London, W1B 5NE

http://www.nopi-restaurant.com/